Showing posts with label News. Show all posts
Showing posts with label News. Show all posts

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Preview: "Children in Need" - 2009 (Doctor Who)

The BBC is such an incredible station. I seriously wish that I could get the actual BBC here instead of BBC Canada or BBC Kids (Which seriously does not air anything that I would ever watch on the BBC, ahem! Doctor Who! ahem! Torchwood!). Every year the BBC does a Telethon called "Children in Need" and within the special, which is used to raise money for charities that work with children. Included within that telethon has been some of the best Doctor Who original material (Who can forget the Fifth and Tenth Doctor together in Time Crash?). Well this year is no exception...

This year's Doctor Who Children in Need special is a 3-minute prelude to "The End of Time" which as you know I am awaiting with baited breath! Watch away, and enjoy! :)



Sure, it doesn't give you more than you already know, but it's got David Tennant, playing the role he was born to play, if not for 3 more minutes!

Donate Today! At the: Official Children in Need site!


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that he still dreams of a day where he can be the first "Non-European" to play the Doctor, but I would at least to have a supporting role in an episode, even if it's not "Groundbreaking".)

Saturday, November 21, 2009

News: "2012" Isn't a Flop Afterall!

Good news for Sony Pictures. It looks like "2012" is going to recoup its production costs after all! According to news found at deadline.com the PG-13 rated blockbuster has made a 5-day box office tally of $225 million worldwide. With an estimated budget around $260 million overall, it would appear that it's just a matter of days before Sony starts making money on the Roland Emmerich "Disaster Flick".

According to the article, it would appear that Emmerich is going to start to see some real coin in the next few weeks, as it has been reported that he is to receive 25% of the gross of the film, so it looks like he made a wise move.

How the hell do I get in on that action? "Monkey See, Monkey Sue" is going to be big box office boffo! I just need a studio attached to the project!

By: Forch F. Fortier (There's a finished script, and I am ready to produce, I just need a studio and director to back me up. "Monkey See, Monkey Sue" tells the story of Bubbles Lowenstein. A monkey, who's a lawyer, and Jewish, who has to defend a man wrongly accused of murder in Alabama. The problem is, is that the community is persecuting him because of the fact that he is a jew, so before he can defend his client, he has to first defend himself!)

News: Smallville: Absolute Justice - FIRST SNEAK PEAK!


For those of you who watched last night's Smallville, on the CW, you must have caught (Unless you headed for a snack, or the bathroom) the first sneak peek at Smallville's "Movie": Absolute Justice (Feb. 5th)

For those of you who missed it, here it is.





I know that you really can't see it on there, but there was a painting on the wall, which showed a certain "Golden Age Speedster"... What I wouldn't give to see Jay Garrick, The Golden Age Flash to show up, and perhaps mentor a certain "Recurring" speedster from the series.... (Ahem, Bart Allen! Ahem, Impulse!)


By. Forch F. Fortier (Who knows that Smallville is rocking so hard this season! With the amount of awesomeness being put into the show is enough to make me sweat with anticipation for Smallville: Absolute Justice!)

News: "New Moon" Rising (To the Midnight Opening Record)

In news that makes me absolutely sick to my stomach....

It would appear that according to: "Box Office Mojo" the midnight showing of the new film: "The Twilight Saga: New Moon" has shattered the midnight opening record, bringing in box-office receipts of $26.27 million dollars, with a total of 3,514 screens playing the movie at midnight Friday morning.

"New Moon" has overtaken "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince", which had a total of $22.2 million, which opened in 3,003 screens earlier this year.

The full-day record for an opening is still held by "The Dark Knight" in 2008, which earned a "Box Office Boffo" in the amount of $67.2 million, yet only managed $18.5 million for the midnight showings.

Now when comparing last year's "Twilight" midnight opening, we're looking at an almost $20 million difference (Twilight made about $7 million in midnight showings, and about $36 million by the close of opening day, and $69.6 million for the opening weekend.)

So it looks like there's going to be a lot of cash made at the box office this weekend. Initial "Chick" reports are saying that "New Moon" was really good. I'd just love to hear a "Dude's" take on New Moon. Maybe Rob Johnson'll see the movie and review it, because I refuse... :P

By. Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that "The Dark Knight" was an awesome flick, and probably the best Batman film of all time, until David Tennant gets casted as the Riddler in an upcoming Batman film. That would totally rule... A ForchMan can dream, can't he?)

Friday, November 20, 2009

News: An "Iron Man" III Casting Rumor???

Iron Man II has not even hit theaters yet, and rumors are abound as to who is going to be the villain in the third installment of the Iron Man franchise. It looks like the money is on Faran Tahir, who if you remember, played the leader of "The Ten Rings", Raza.

Jon Favreau, director of the Iron Man films and the producers of the series as well, have mentioned in the past that they would love to introduce "The Mandarin" as a villain at some point, and since "The Ten Rings" is obviously a reference to The Mandarin (And not the restaurant, smartass! Crap, now I can go for some Won Ton Soup!) it would be safe to assume that Raza would be either the man who brings the Mandarin to life, or in fact, The Mandarin himself.

All I know is that I can't wait for the second Iron Man film, let alone the one after that! 2010 is going to be a kickass movie year, to say the least!

By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that May 7th, 2010 is the release date of Iron Man II. Forch will be in attendance... Will you???)

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Smallville News: "Absolute Justice" is coming for you!

Hawkman is coming to Smallville, errrr, Metropolis!!!!

That's right. The first picture from the long-awaited Justice Society episodes of "Smallville" has been unleashed on the public, and I have to admit, Hawkman looks pretty darned cool for a TV-adaptation.

The Geoff Johns (Genuflect in his presence!) penned episodes are now actually going to air as a two-hour "Movie" rather than a 2 parter of episodes aired in consecutive weeks. Looks like the CW network wants to capitalize on fanboy-drool, and give them the full "10".

The title of this episode/movie? "Absolute Justice", that sounds just kickass enough to make me book Feb 5th, 2010 off (Like I have a job to book it off! :P ) It was scheduled originally to air on Jan 29th, but the CW moved it to Feb 5th, don't ask me why, I have no idea.

In case you were wondering who Geoff Johns is? He's only the greatest writer in Comics today! He also penned last season's "Legion" which introduced the Legion of Superheroes to the Smallville-universe, and it was kickass, so just face the facts, "Absolute Justice" will be no different.

By: Forch F. Fortier (Who knows just how awesome Geoff Johns really is. He took an already awesome book, like "The Flash" and he made it even better. Everything in comics he touches turns to Gold, or better yet, Platinum, especially if he's writing "Metal Men")

News: Is "New Moon" going to de-throne "2012"???

"2012" may be the #1 film at the box office right now, don't expect that to last. According to online movie ticket seller: Fandango, it looks like "The Twilight Saga: New Moon" is going to sink the "arcs" that the last remaining humans are aboard (This is part of the plot of 2012, spoiler alert...). Fandango has reported that "New Moon" has pre-sold more tickets for its opening than any other film in history (Shudder).

It has been reported that for every midnight screening of the film that sells out, that theater owners are planning on adding more screenings to capitalize on the demand. Analysts have predicted that the opening weekend could bring in possibly more than $100 million, and some are anticipating that the opening can be even bigger than "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen", which opened at $108 million.


I am frightened at this. Very frightened... The Lemming Effect has never been stronger... I guess I won't be going to the movies this weekend, because nothing I want to see is opening this weekend...

By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds the movie-going audience that there are more movies out there that don't involve Vampires and Werewolves, that are far more entertaining than some drawn out drivel love-story that ultimately you're going to outgrow by the time the last one comes out...)

Monday, November 16, 2009

News: The End of Time is approaching....


"He will knock four times..."

Those words have been tormenting The Doctor since "The Planet of the Dead". What exactly do they mean? Well for the most disconcerting fan, they know that it could mean only one thing...

The Master is returning...

And that means that nothing good can come from his arrival. John Simm is still The Master? How is that so? And what role do the Ood play? What about Wilfred Mott? Or Donna Noble? All of these things are going to be answered, and the countdown to "The End of Time" has begun!

Here is the trailer, which played at the end of last night's: "The Waters of Mars"




By: Forch F. Fortier (Who is nervous, sad, worried, excited, happy, and a ton of other emotions at the prospect of not having David Tennant as The Doctor anymore. He's woven himself into my subconscious more than any Doctor before him, and I don't know if I can ever accept another... Matt Smith, you have your work cut out for you, son.)

Thursday, November 12, 2009

News: "Tits" The "Breast" News I Have Heard All Day!


Great news for breast cancer survivors, as it looks like Australian Scientists are getting ready to start human trials on a surgery so revolutionary, that it will enable women to regrow their breasts after having a Mastectomy.

The technique, called Neopec utilizes Stem Cells, and if successful, it is the hope that it would replace breast reconstructions and implants within three years.

The Bernard O'Brien Institute of Microsurgery's: Dr. Phillip Marzella has stated that there is going to be a trial of possibly five to six women, which may start within the next three to six months, as a way "To demonstrate that the body can regrow its own fat supply in the breast." Based on an article posted at the British Newspaper: The Telegraph, during the first trial, the surgeons will implant a chamber containing a sample of the woman's fat tissue into the chest, which will act as a "scaffolding" into which new breast tissue would then grow.

The chamber itself is to be biodegradable, so the fat can grow within, and then the chamber dissolve naturally. Dr. Marzella has stated that the new breasts would feel completely normal to the patient.

Marzella is hopeful that if successful, the same technique may be used it the future to possibly regrow other organs, when speaking on the subject, he was quoted as saying: "We are hoping to move on to other organs using the same principle - a chamber that protects and contains cells as they grow and they restore their normal function. So it is a pretty major leap for regenerative surgery and medicine."

The technique has already been successful in pigs, which grew breasts within six weeks, however Marzella says that the technique could take longer in women because humans stop growing once they reach adolescence.

In my opinion, this is a tremendous story, with amazing potential. Not just because as a man, I am a huge fan of breasts, but science is doing something to make our lives better. I just hope that "The Bible Belt" doesn't get wind of this and try to shut this down before the benefits can be shown to the world!


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who knows that this is not as much as a geek story as it is a "Science" story, but let's face facts, science is the Geek's best subject (Well that or Math.) and let's just put it out there. I love breasts. So any way that we can improve or enhance the bust, I am all for it!)





Original story: Australian scientists to start 'breast regrowth' trial

Twilight: How The Hell Can Edward Afford a $30,000 Vehicle???


I've always been a fan of "Product Placement". I think that if a company can get their product inside the film, more power to them. I always laugh at companies who put their product into a TV show/Movie that the core audience would never (in a million years) purchase said product. Say for example, Hmmmm, I dunno... Volvo being prominently featured in the upcoming movie: "The Twilight Saga: New Moon".









Now first off, I'm sure that it's obvious that I am not a fan of Twilight, or honestly Vampires in general. I feel that the Genre is far-too overplayed and an original idea hasn't been presented since "Once Bitten" came out in 1985 (And I hope you realize I am being sarcastic there). The idea behind "Bloodsuckers" and "Creatures of the night" are about as appealing to me, personally as a swift kick to the testicles by a placekicker wearing an iron boot.

So Volvo (Boxy, but good) has taken it upon themselves to sponsor the new Twilight movie. And kudos to them. Nothing says "Pre-teen who can't drive" like a new Volvo XC60! I mean honestly, first off, most of the people who are into those books/films are about the age of 13-21 and female. In all honestly, how many of them would be caught dead behind the wheel of "Their Own" Volvo. Usually it's Mom's Volvo (Station wagon) that they're driving. I can't see a surge in Volvo sales because of this movie (even though we all know that "The Lemming Effect" will be huge for this movie!)


I mean, first off the Volvo XC60's Sticker price (For the BASE model) is $32,995 (U.S. funds). We're in the middle of this "Economic Crisis", and I doubt an 18-year old vampire can afford a "Higher End" vehicle (unless his undead parents are good with money, and have secure jobs!), and I have never made $32,995 in a single year (With the exception of 2000, when I worked 2 jobs at once, and worked like 60hr a week throughout the summer!). I think that it would be a hell of a lot more realistic to see Edward driving a 2001 Chevy Cavalier, or if it's a new car, maybe a 2004 Kia Rio LXV (Which is the worst car anyone can ever own, ask Trevor, he's ridden in one with me!) The idea of anyone under 20, without visible income owning a $30,000 vehicle is so unrealistic. Unless he, of course is classified as dead and had a heck of an insurance policy.

Until then, I'll just continue to drive my 2001 Dodge Caravan SE....


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that the 2010 Dodge Caliber is #1 in customer satisfaction among 32 year old unemployed men who live in their parents' basement. Its value surpasses that of the Kia Rio and the Chevy Impala in every test! So for my money, it's the Dodge Caliber!!! And if you get one now, you'll probably get some nice dealer incentives on the purchase or lease of a new Caliber or any of the fine products Dodge has to offer.)

News: ...Now! A "Kick-Ass" Poster!!!


A day after finding the trailer for the upcoming adaptation of the comic book "Kick-Ass", it looks like a teaser poster has been released to promote the film. And judging by what has been put out so far, I have to say that I am eagerly anticipating this film! Lionsgate (The distributor of the film) is set to make some serious coin on this movie by the looks of it.

For those of you not familiar with Kick-Ass, the story revolves around a bunch of teens who become superheroes in the real world. The film itself was made, without the backing of a distributor, and due to its smashing reception at Comic Con this year, Lionsgate scooped up the rights to the movie.

Mark Millar, the writer of the comic, is one of the premier writers in comics today, and his reputation in Hollywood is ever-expanding. With the success of "Wanted" in 2008, and now "Kick-Ass" making all of the fanboys drool, expect to see a lot of future adaptations of his work in the future.

In fact, Millar is looking to gear up for a sequel to "Kick-Ass" before the film hits theaters (Which isn't until April 16th, 2010), which is likely to occur, due to the film's low budget, it gives the film a chance to be extremely profitable. In addition to that, there's even talk of a "Wanted 2" possibly being in production.


By Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that his favorite Mark Millar work is probably "The Ultimates", which would make a great Live-Action movie, but he'll settle for the Animated Version. What he would really love to see is an adaptation of "Superman: Red Son")

News: Eliza Dushku files for Unemployment Insurance as FOX cancels "Dollhouse"


Well Joss Whedon can't seem to catch a break when it comes to his TV work on the FOX network. It looks like the Network has put the axe to his latest TV project: "Dollhouse", starring Eliza Dushku.

The show is going to end a 13-episode run to conclude season two, and the series. Fox has given the notice to Whedon that it will air those remaining episodes that they originally ordered. This will allow Whedon to end the series proper.

For those of you who remember (And if you read this, I am sure you do), Fox cancelled Whedon's other show on the network prematurely as well. That show, being Firefly. Now Firefly had a cult following to it, which led to a feature film, Serenity being released. Time will only tell if Dollhouse gets the same treatment, however I can only imagine that this will not be the case. The show was/is not exactly a ratings-juggernaut.

I have not watched the show myself, however I have heard that the series itself has been filled with problems since the premiere, and honestly, the show premise itself isn't exactly something that is going to appeal to a lot of people. The only reason why I'd even watch the show myself, would be for Eliza Dushku, and I am not so attracted to her that I have to watch anything with her in it, and that's not always enough for a show to be appealing. (See: Dark Angel)


By Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that FOX has a history of canceling shows before their time, so Dollhouse fans, don't fret. The network never knows what shows to keep on the air. Look at "Arrested Development", an amazing show which ended far too soon, and then of course look at "Prison Break", a show that was on FAR TOO LONG! It was still called Prison Break, even after they broke out of prison. More than 3/4 of the show took place AFTER the Prison Break!)

Geek Fashion: These Shoes Will Boldly Take You Where Some Men Have Gone Before


When I surf the web, to try to find some of the coolest stuff in "Geekery", I often come across something that is so awesome, it's almost laughable. This is one such story. For those of you who know me well, know that in addition to the fact that I am a giant geek, I also have an obsession with Sports Jerseys, Goofy Shirts, and High-Top Sneakers. Well this allows me to put some of this all together into an "Amalgam of Awesome!"

Airwalk, known for their "Skater" styled shoes has created the geekiest shoes ever! The All-New "Star Trek STPL-x". It is a line of Star Trek inspired High Tops, available through Payless Shoe Source. The shoes themselves were designed by jeffstaple and carry a modest price of $49.99/pair (I am unsure if that's U.S. or Canadian prices)

They come in 3 colors: "Command" Yellow (Gold, whatever), "Science" Blue and "Operations" Red. The shoes are adorned with the Star Trek Insignia, and as they're made by Airwalk, the quality of the show will no doubt be very good.

I, myself need the "Command" Yellow to go with the T-Shirt in my collection. Needless to say, I'll be rockin' my next 'Con in style!


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that the needs of the many, may outweigh the needs of the few (or one), but this "one" NEEDS these shoes!)

News: Saw VII gets the "Green Light"


As I called it a couple of weeks ago ( "6 Times The Charm, 6 Times The Yawn" October 24th) although the fans showed their "Flagrant Uncaring" for the "Saw" franchise, Lionsgate has begun preparations for a "Saw VII" to hit theaters (as it has been the 6 years before it) around Halloween of 2010.

Now, despite "Saw VI's" abysmal performance in theaters, the film has managed to generate a profit, but when comparing the performance of the film prior. The Fifth installment has made about $30 million more than the current Saw film. By today's standards for film that is not a lot, except when compared with the fact that Saw VI hasn't even made $30 million total. ($26 Million to date)

Now even though Saw VII is a guarantee, there is no guarantee that Saw VIII is going to be made. And it looks like David Hackl is slated to direct the next Saw film, so that might be a good sign, considering that he helmed Saw V, which was the most successful of them all. There are also reports that the film will be in 3-D, cementing the trend that every movie needs to be in 3-D now!

But I could care less, because I haven't even seen Saw (Heh heh, Seen-Saw!) yet, and I have no immediate plans to. (Unless it guarantees me getting laid, then I may consider it.)


By Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that he is not as shallow as one would think, when it comes to sex. It is true that while he enjoys sex, and will admit that he's quite good at it, just because you're with him, doesn't guarantee that you'll "Get with him", because it's an honor, not a right, and if you play your cards right, then you might get "Blinded by the light" tonight!)

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Doctor Who: Drowning in Anticipation!


I can't believe that it's 4 more days, and then: "The Waters Of Mars"! And I have to say this: I can not wait! Judging by the latest trailer for the episode, it looks better and better the more stuff that I see from it! I am filled with a sense of Ennui, because of the fact that the end is approaching ever faster for David Tennant's Doctor.







Just look at that! Such Foreboding! Such Suspense! Such Horror! The guys over at denofgeek.com have seen the episode itself, and they have said that it is the one of the darkest episodes of Doctor Who ever! The state that: "It's a super episode." I have no idea how the hell I am going to get through the next four days without either having a heart attack, or at best a nervous breakdown! I have no doubt that I am going to love the episode (As will Robert Johnson, Ace TNTM reporter, and Claye Hodge, Gastonia's Pride and TNTM reporter as well!) The worst part about "The Waters of Mars" is having to wait for "The End of Time" in December!

But at least the wait for that won't be as bad as the amount of time we've all had to wait for "The Waters of Mars".


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds the fans of Doctor Who that Christmas is coming, and what better way to celebrate the birth of Jesus, than by buying Forch the "San Diego Comicon 2009 Exclusive Second Doctor with Telos Cyber Tombs Cyberman! It's a Must have for my collection!)

News: A "Kick-Ass" Trailer!!!


I always love mornings when I get awoken by a little girl at 6:00am (That is total sarcasm, of course!) But sometime when that happens, I get to find a bunch of totally kick-ass stuff online to share with everyone, and how ironic that today, of all days, I find "Kick-Ass" information. Quite Literally.






Kick-Ass

Trailer Park | MySpace Video



What you see before you is the trailer for the adaptation of the Mark Millar Comic: "Kick-Ass" which is coming to theaters next year (April 16th). It is directed by Matthew Vaughn (Layer Cake) and stars Christopher Mintz-Plasse (McLovin from Superbad) and Nicolas Cage!

I totally can not wait to see this one!!




By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that he fights crime as "ForchMan" who dispatches justice upon evildoers who think that they can get away with their tomfoolery! Citizens of Winfield City! You can sleep well knowing that the "One who wields the Lightning" is making the city safe for you all!)

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

News: Smallville just got a whole lot sexier!!!


So here I am, reading through a bunch of entertainment news sites, and I have been blown out of my seat with the news that Pam Grier (One of the sexiest women of Forch's fantasies) has been cast on Smallville, as (Get this) Amanda Waller... That has to be some of the most unexpected casting news that I would have ever expected to hear. Especially for that Role.







Don't get me wrong, I am really stoked about it! Pam Grier is one of the sexiest women of all time. I've had a crush on her since I saw "Foxy Brown" late night on TV when I was like 10 years old. (Yeah, she was one of my first "Moments of Stiffness"!!!) Even at 60, she's still damned hot!!!



So the role of Amanda Waller is a little off, considering that the part (Which is that of an African American woman) is that of a "Larger" woman. Grier is anything, but "Large" (Unless you're adding "In Charge"). I am imagining that the role of Waller is going to have "The Suicide Squad" or "Checkmate" involved. That would be awesome, especially if we can have Captain Boomerang, or Deadshot on Smallville! (Maybe that will lead to another appearance by Bart Allen aka The Flash/Impulse!)







According to the news on the sites that I have been viewing, it looks like her story arc will appear in the second half of the season, after the most anticipated two-parter of the season: Geoff John's Justice Society episodes (I still am praying for at least an appearance by Jay Garrick, the Golden Age Flash!)

But if Grier's going to be a regular of the cast for the next half of this season, that's enough (Not that I needed a reason) to keep me peeled to my television screen for the rest of the season!!!





By Forch F. Fortier (who reminds the writers of Smallville, that the fans want to see more of the Justice League. Now that Ollie is back, and fighting crime, it's time to put the band back together. "Justice" is still one of my all-time favorite episodes, and with Amanda Waller and the possibility of a "Checkmate" storyline, I smell a total season climax that has a lot of Boom! Now... Just to hurry up and end this Kandor storyline, and get Checkmate going!)

Doctor Who: The End Of Time Is Near, And The Doctor Doesn't Look Happy!


The first photo from the final David Tennant Doctor Who episodes have appeared online, and it looks like The Doctor is not a happy camper! I wonder why. Do you have any idea? Does it have anything to do with The Doctor being warned that his story is about to end? And what does "He will Knock Four Times" mean??? All of this and more this Christmas for the two-part "The End of Time" Doctor Who finale!!!

More to come!!! (As we get it!)

By Forch F. Fortier

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

News: Finally! Some Good News For Heroes!!! (Monday Night Ratings)


Jayma Mays' return to Heroes helped to boost the show's ratings, overnight viewing figures show. Which is about time, because Heroes (As Mentioned before....) is looking like it might be on its last legs...

Last night's episode, which saw Hiro travel three years into the past to try to save Charlie from the hands of Sylar, pulled in 6.2m for NBC in the 8pm hour - the best figure for season four so far. The previous high of 6m was achieved in the 'Redemption' opener. So what does this mean for Heroes??? Maybe that the series' fans are clamoring for more of what made the first season so great! (I know that this is my opinion!)

After Heroes, NBC scored the following with: Trauma and The Jay Leno Show logged 6.2m and 4.3m at 9pm and 10pm respectively.


However CBS (My personal favorite network for Monday night programming) did much better than NBC, with How I Met Your Mother and Accidentally On Purpose put in 9.1m and 8.5m for CBS during the 8pm hour, then 13.6m watched Two And A Half Men at 9pm. The Big Bang Theory followed at 9.30pm with 12.7m.

Over on ABC, a two-hour episode of Dancing With The Stars managed 16.2m at 8pm, then 9.7m tuned in for Castle at 10pm.

One Tree Hill and Gossip Girl interested 2.4m and 1.9m for The CW at 8pm and 9pm respectively.

Fox's coverage of the World Series Game 5 averaged 17.1m between 8pm and 11pm.
Related articles. Let's just hope that the Yankees don't win, because I seriously will barf out my lungs if they do... (Crossing fingers.... Go Phils!)

So what does this mean for NBC? That means they placed fourth place of five networks. Not good at all. Heroes used to be a ratings powerhouse, and now it isn't. CBS clearly has the best Monday night lineup. (Lord knows I was tuned in non-stop for the three hour stretch 8-11pm)


By Forch F. Fortier (Who believes that if Sheldon Cooper ran the world, it would be a much better place. Things would be in order, people would have regular bowel movements, and everyone would wear two shirts, always... (Something that Sheldon and I have in common.) Oh what a world that would be! NOW MOVE! You're in my spot!)

Doctor Who: In Steve We Trust? We'll See Soon Enough!


So last week, scribe, and newest Producer of Doctor Who, Steven Moffat had a chat at a Screenwriter's Festival in Cheltenham, (UK) to discuss some of the things to expect for Series Five (I guess the episodes from 2009 are Series 4b?) of Doctor Who.

Benjamin Cook took the duties of interviewing, and it looks like there were a few items of interest that had been mentioned. Moffat had revealed the following was in store for the next series of our beloved Doctor Who, as well as a few interesting comments, which may spell out his vision of the show.

Special Thanks to denofgeek.com for the information, which appears that they got (At least in part) from Digital Spy who has a great excerpt, timeline wise of the interview here!


Here are some of the highlights of the interview:

* Could the new Tardis interior be influenced by Peter Cushing's, from the movie version of the show? Steven Moffat revealed that he's certainly a fan of Cushing's Tardis, so don't be surprised if its influence it felt...

* He re-emphasised that Doctor Who is a kids' show, citing the failure of the 1996 TV movie with Paul McGann as an example of how going too grown-up with Doctor Who doesn't work.

* Very, very good news: Mr Moffat is penning six (SIX!) episodes of the next series of the show. Add to that the earlier news that Richard Curtis is penning an episode, and that's six more to work out. It seems that Moffat wasn't to be drawn on that, though, although he didn't confirm or seemingly deny rumours of high profile guest writers being involved (although Curtis falls into that camp, to be fair).

* Moffat revealed that The Sun got hold of his script for The Silence In The Library before it was broadcast and threatened to publish it. Moffat simply told them to do it - "I'd like to see The Sun publish that many words in a day"


* Moffat said that Matt Smith was the third person auditioned for the role, reiterating that he's very much a young man coming across a lot older.

* The biggest challenge for Steven Moffat about Doctor Who's new series? According to the man himself, it's writing the final episode...

So what does this mean for Series Five??? Well as I had mentioned in a previous article (Prior to TNTM 2.0) that there was a chance that stairs were going to appear in the TARDIS, and it looks like there may be a completely different look to the series.

I am glad that Moffat is penning about 1/2 the episodes this year. He is clearly the best writer of the series (Sorry, RTD), penning each of my personal favorites from each series.

If Moffat thinks that Matt Smith can do an excellent job, then I put my faith in the both of them. I honestly won't complain until a reason for complaint is given to me. I am sure that we each could come up with a number of different actors that we want to play the Doctor, however obviously Moffat's vision has something specific, and Matt Smith, must be what he has envisioned for the series.

I sort of disagree, however with Mr. Moffat's assertion that Doctor Who is a Kid's show. Doctor Who is a Family show, in my opinion. It's one of the few shows that my Three Year Old Daughter, Chloe and I watch together (Without complaint by myself, or Spanish Lessons) and nothing makes me happier that my daughter knows what a TARDIS is, and has her own Sonic Screwdriver :) Nothing makes me prouder when that's the toy she wants to take back to Mommy's house. (Thank God I have 4)


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who knows that when The End of Time comes out, he'll be crying like a beaten step-child, but also knows that there's not going to be a long wait for the next series to get underway. Now all he needs is a girlfriend that is willing to watch Doctor Who with him and Chloe, and his life will then be complete!)