Showing posts with label TV. Show all posts
Showing posts with label TV. Show all posts

Monday, March 8, 2010

Gleek





Hey, I'm Shane, and I'm a Geek... No surprise to anyone who has ever met me I'm sure... I'm into all the standard Geek stuff. Dungeons & Dragons, Joss Wheedon TV Shows, Computers, etc... But I learned something about myself recently... I'm also a Gleek...

For a few months I've been seeing promos for a show called Glee... I'm led to understand a few of you may have seen/heard of this show...

Well being off sick for about a week, I decided that I needed something to do other than sitting at my computer or doing other sick people stuff... Popped into the local Walmart, saw Glee Season 1, Volume 1, it was 35.00. That's right the first season will be released in 2 Volumes, 35.00 each likely... Thought what the hell, I'd rather watch TV shows on DVD anyway.

I got it home and spent the next 4 hours enthralled with the first Disc... I'm not surprised that I like Musical TV Shows, Buffy The Vampire Slayer did a musical episode, and that was one of my favorite TV episodes of any show ever.

The writing is funny, smart, and occasionally a little sexy... In short it covers all bases. It's the kind of entertaining I don't mind paying a bit more for.

Cast. Oh my god... Seriously, very few big names... All big characters, all big personalities, and most importantly BIG voices.

Where to start, in a non singing role is Jane Lynch as Sue Sylvester, the cheerleader coach is at her acerbic best. One liners, and some truly awesome evil.

Her counterpart in a singing role is Matthew Morrison as Will Schuester (Schue to his peers and students), the teacher we all wish we'd had in high school, young, cool, and he sings. I'm sure there are more than a few school girl crushes on this teacher.

The Lead Students are Lea Michele is Rachel Berry, a Driven, Obsessed, and Talented stage child. Child of 2 dads. She is annoying at times, but very sweet at heart. She just wants what's hers, the lead in every number.

Cory Monteith plays Football Star Finn Hudson. Finn has predictably knocked up his Head Cheerleader girlfriend. Surprises abound for this character. After hearing him sing in the shower Schue blackmails him into Glee Club with a trumped up drug possession charge. I feel Finn experiences the most growth of anyone in the first part of season 1. He starts as a bit of a meat head, but grows into the leader that Glee needs.

The supporting Cast is absolutely fantastic.

Amber Riley as Mercedes Jones tears up musical numbers. Her voice, and talent really come through.

Kevin McHale is Artie Abrams. Artie is wheelchair bound, but his voice is big enough for 3 or 4 characters. The watchword on this show must be talent talent talent.

Jenna Ushkowitz as Tina Cohen-Chang rocks out with a big voice, and a funky look every time she's on screen.

Dianna Argon is Qunn Fabray. Head Cheerleader and manipulative, evil and cute. Oh also pregnant, but not by her boyfriend Finn. Her singing was not really featured much, but the parts they gave her were really well done.

Mark Salling as Noah 'Puck' Puckerman is the character you should hate. He's gotten his best friend's girlfriend pregnant, but his earnestness is endearing, and his rendition of Neil Diamond's Sweet Caroline was show stopping for me.

Jayma Mays plays Emma Pillsbury, the school guidance councillor and wanna be Plan B for Schue. She's probably the only character who really sees Schue's vision. Last but not least is Chris Colfer playing Kurt Hummel.

Kurt is the Gay Drama Guy that we all remember from high school, which of course makes him a great foil for Rachel. He memorably comes out to Burt his awkward man's man single father in one episode played impeccably by Mike O' Malley. His sing off against Rachel for the right to sing Defying Gravity from the broadway hit Wicked gave me goose bumps.

Tertiary and guest casting was even above average. Iqbal Theba as Penny Pinching Principal Figgins always brings the funny. Jessalyn Gilsig plays Schue's wife Terri, reeks of awesomeness, and evil. She lies, manipulates, and blackmails with ruthlessness. But always with the 'Greater Good' in mind. With guest stars like Eve, and Kristin Chenoweth, Glee has made a believer of me.

I will recommend this show until I die if the 2nd half of season one is anywhere near as good as the first.

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Preview: "Children in Need" - 2009 (Doctor Who)

The BBC is such an incredible station. I seriously wish that I could get the actual BBC here instead of BBC Canada or BBC Kids (Which seriously does not air anything that I would ever watch on the BBC, ahem! Doctor Who! ahem! Torchwood!). Every year the BBC does a Telethon called "Children in Need" and within the special, which is used to raise money for charities that work with children. Included within that telethon has been some of the best Doctor Who original material (Who can forget the Fifth and Tenth Doctor together in Time Crash?). Well this year is no exception...

This year's Doctor Who Children in Need special is a 3-minute prelude to "The End of Time" which as you know I am awaiting with baited breath! Watch away, and enjoy! :)



Sure, it doesn't give you more than you already know, but it's got David Tennant, playing the role he was born to play, if not for 3 more minutes!

Donate Today! At the: Official Children in Need site!


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that he still dreams of a day where he can be the first "Non-European" to play the Doctor, but I would at least to have a supporting role in an episode, even if it's not "Groundbreaking".)

Sunday, November 15, 2009

Review: Doctor Who: "The Waters of Mars"


"They said that he would knock four times, but three times is all you're going to get!" The Doctor, the man who can travel throughout time and space in his blue box utters out during the climactic scene of the most recent episode of "Doctor Who". I waited all the way since Easter to see this installment, and I assure you that I was not at all disappointed.

When we last saw our gallant Gallifreyan Lord of Time, he had just rescued a bus full of passengers from impending doom, and as he left them, he was told. That his tale was nearing an end. Was tonight to be that night? As far as The Doctor was concerned.... NOT TONIGHT!


"The Waters Of Mars" written by Whoscribe: Russell T. Davies and co-written by Phil Ford, delivered a different episode than we were used to, one that I had warned the readers of this very blog about. Some were worried that different might not be good, but let's face it, as fans of Doctor Who, we're used to change, and "Different" is a word that gets thrown around a lot in our lives.

So The Doctor ends up on Mars, and meets up with the first Human colony on Mars, and lo and behold, like any time the Doctor shows up, death and destruction follow. The difference this time? The Doctor is powerless to change anything about this event. This is a fixed point in time. We learned about this in "The Fires of Pompeii" that some things are meant to happen, and they're not meant to be changed.


The episode plays out like you would expect. Bad guys start to overrun the colony, and there seems to be no hope to change any of this. The bad guy? WATER! And lots of it! It seems like the water supply is infecting the people of the colony, and like the Doctor says: "Water is patient... Water always wins..." so how are they to survive this catastrophe?

They're not.

Or are they?

The most dramatic part of this episode is the inner-conflict that The Doctor has. He wants to change this, but he knows that because of the change, certain future events would then be altered. As well, if one drop of that water reaches earth, then the human race is doomed.

The Doctor is faced with the knowledge that he's going to die soon, and it's touched upon a few times in the episode. After much soul searching, he realizes that he's the only Time Lord left, and he's the one that makes the rules. The rules of Time no longer apply, because there is no one there to Govern him. So he changes things. He takes it upon himself and changes things.

But what did he really change? This is the first time we get to see The Doctor's arrogance to the point of near-evil. It's an interesting turn for David Tennant's Doctor to take. You almost reach a point where you start to dislike him, until he realizes what he has done. And then you see the fear grip him. The fear that something is going to happen.

But what is going to happen???

All I know, is that he (Whoever "He" is... And yes, I know who "He" is...) is going to knock four times, and when he does.... The Drums will Sound off...

I give "The Waters of Mars" 10 Grilled Cheese sandwiches out of 10. That's right a perfect score. Some may disagree with me, but 1. It's Doctor Who, and 2. I don't care what you think! I LOVED IT!


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that he does knock four times as well when he reaches your door. But he doesn't leave a wake of destruction in his path, he does, however leave your toilet smelling fresh, and clean! Oh wait, no. That's wrong. But when he does knock, make sure to have Diet Pepsi or Blue Kool-Aid handy...)

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Doctor Who: Drowning in Anticipation!


I can't believe that it's 4 more days, and then: "The Waters Of Mars"! And I have to say this: I can not wait! Judging by the latest trailer for the episode, it looks better and better the more stuff that I see from it! I am filled with a sense of Ennui, because of the fact that the end is approaching ever faster for David Tennant's Doctor.







Just look at that! Such Foreboding! Such Suspense! Such Horror! The guys over at denofgeek.com have seen the episode itself, and they have said that it is the one of the darkest episodes of Doctor Who ever! The state that: "It's a super episode." I have no idea how the hell I am going to get through the next four days without either having a heart attack, or at best a nervous breakdown! I have no doubt that I am going to love the episode (As will Robert Johnson, Ace TNTM reporter, and Claye Hodge, Gastonia's Pride and TNTM reporter as well!) The worst part about "The Waters of Mars" is having to wait for "The End of Time" in December!

But at least the wait for that won't be as bad as the amount of time we've all had to wait for "The Waters of Mars".


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds the fans of Doctor Who that Christmas is coming, and what better way to celebrate the birth of Jesus, than by buying Forch the "San Diego Comicon 2009 Exclusive Second Doctor with Telos Cyber Tombs Cyberman! It's a Must have for my collection!)

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

News: Smallville just got a whole lot sexier!!!


So here I am, reading through a bunch of entertainment news sites, and I have been blown out of my seat with the news that Pam Grier (One of the sexiest women of Forch's fantasies) has been cast on Smallville, as (Get this) Amanda Waller... That has to be some of the most unexpected casting news that I would have ever expected to hear. Especially for that Role.







Don't get me wrong, I am really stoked about it! Pam Grier is one of the sexiest women of all time. I've had a crush on her since I saw "Foxy Brown" late night on TV when I was like 10 years old. (Yeah, she was one of my first "Moments of Stiffness"!!!) Even at 60, she's still damned hot!!!



So the role of Amanda Waller is a little off, considering that the part (Which is that of an African American woman) is that of a "Larger" woman. Grier is anything, but "Large" (Unless you're adding "In Charge"). I am imagining that the role of Waller is going to have "The Suicide Squad" or "Checkmate" involved. That would be awesome, especially if we can have Captain Boomerang, or Deadshot on Smallville! (Maybe that will lead to another appearance by Bart Allen aka The Flash/Impulse!)







According to the news on the sites that I have been viewing, it looks like her story arc will appear in the second half of the season, after the most anticipated two-parter of the season: Geoff John's Justice Society episodes (I still am praying for at least an appearance by Jay Garrick, the Golden Age Flash!)

But if Grier's going to be a regular of the cast for the next half of this season, that's enough (Not that I needed a reason) to keep me peeled to my television screen for the rest of the season!!!





By Forch F. Fortier (who reminds the writers of Smallville, that the fans want to see more of the Justice League. Now that Ollie is back, and fighting crime, it's time to put the band back together. "Justice" is still one of my all-time favorite episodes, and with Amanda Waller and the possibility of a "Checkmate" storyline, I smell a total season climax that has a lot of Boom! Now... Just to hurry up and end this Kandor storyline, and get Checkmate going!)

Doctor Who: The End Of Time Is Near, And The Doctor Doesn't Look Happy!


The first photo from the final David Tennant Doctor Who episodes have appeared online, and it looks like The Doctor is not a happy camper! I wonder why. Do you have any idea? Does it have anything to do with The Doctor being warned that his story is about to end? And what does "He will Knock Four Times" mean??? All of this and more this Christmas for the two-part "The End of Time" Doctor Who finale!!!

More to come!!! (As we get it!)

By Forch F. Fortier

Friday, November 6, 2009

Review: Smallville, Episode 9-7: Kandor.


Well tonight's Smallville, once again surpassed my expectations and was left eagerly anticipating next week!

Wow, what a way to blow my wad before I even get into my review!

This weeks episode: "Kandor", which is the seventh episode of this, the ninth season.

Now, if we recall, last week we were left with the first "Real" kiss between Clark and Lois, does this mean that more romance is in store for everyone's favorite Kryptonian? Well, No. It's a Lois-free episode (boo!) but at least it's a Chloe-heavy episode! (yay!). This installment focusses on The Kandorians, let by Major Zod (Why isn't he a General, hmmmm? Will we find out this week?)


Opening up the episode, after Chloe tracks a Kandorian signal, Clark and Ollie travel to the desert somewhere and find the seal of the House of El fused into the sand (In the form of glass) in the very desert itself. At the base, lies dog tags. Clark reads them, and is shocked to see the very name he never expected. Jor-El.
The episode itself finally explains itself, with a lot of Flashbacks to Kandor, and a war that took place about 20 years before Krypton's destruction. Major Zod and Jor-El were the closest of friends, with Zod even going as far to save Jor-El from a death sentence when disobeying orders. Jor-El is commissioned to make a device, which essentially makes the Kryptonians Immortal (The very device that Tess Mercer opened at the Season 8 Finale to release the Kandorians.)

So to sum everything up, so that we can get the fourth dimensional explanation...



So.... Major Zod, Jor-El and the rest of the Kandorians are actually clones of their previously living counterparts, they're not the real-deal. This explains why Zod is just a Major, and not a General. The reason why none of them have super powers, is because Jor-El knew that they'd possibly be a menace to earth, so he used Blue Kryptonite, and exposed it to the device, so that none of them could develop powers.

What I also liked about this episode, is that we get a reason why Zod hates Jor-El! That's something that I enjoyed to finally get to see on the screen. The reason being that Jor-El refused Zod's request to put his dead son's DNA into the device, which caused the rift between the two, and ultimately Zod's dissent into madness, and finally the destruction of Krypton itself.

In the end, Zod finally figures out who the son of Jor-El is, and we fade to black, so now the games begin...


I must applaud the performance of Julian Sands as Jor-El. He did quite a good job, and managed to sound a lot like Terence Stamp (Which I still laugh, because he actually played Zod in the Superman Movies, how weird this circles itself!). The scene in which he dies in Clark's arms, you see how much anguish Clark feels because he gets a chance to meet his real father, but only for a moment.

This was an even better episode than last week, and judging by how things are starting to heat up, I can only imagine how "Business is about to pick up!" I give Kandor a total of 9 Grilled Cheese Sandwiches out of a possible 10!


By Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that the son of Jor-El has yet to kneel before Zod, but Zod kneels before Charles Nelson Reilly.)

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

News: Finally! Some Good News For Heroes!!! (Monday Night Ratings)


Jayma Mays' return to Heroes helped to boost the show's ratings, overnight viewing figures show. Which is about time, because Heroes (As Mentioned before....) is looking like it might be on its last legs...

Last night's episode, which saw Hiro travel three years into the past to try to save Charlie from the hands of Sylar, pulled in 6.2m for NBC in the 8pm hour - the best figure for season four so far. The previous high of 6m was achieved in the 'Redemption' opener. So what does this mean for Heroes??? Maybe that the series' fans are clamoring for more of what made the first season so great! (I know that this is my opinion!)

After Heroes, NBC scored the following with: Trauma and The Jay Leno Show logged 6.2m and 4.3m at 9pm and 10pm respectively.


However CBS (My personal favorite network for Monday night programming) did much better than NBC, with How I Met Your Mother and Accidentally On Purpose put in 9.1m and 8.5m for CBS during the 8pm hour, then 13.6m watched Two And A Half Men at 9pm. The Big Bang Theory followed at 9.30pm with 12.7m.

Over on ABC, a two-hour episode of Dancing With The Stars managed 16.2m at 8pm, then 9.7m tuned in for Castle at 10pm.

One Tree Hill and Gossip Girl interested 2.4m and 1.9m for The CW at 8pm and 9pm respectively.

Fox's coverage of the World Series Game 5 averaged 17.1m between 8pm and 11pm.
Related articles. Let's just hope that the Yankees don't win, because I seriously will barf out my lungs if they do... (Crossing fingers.... Go Phils!)

So what does this mean for NBC? That means they placed fourth place of five networks. Not good at all. Heroes used to be a ratings powerhouse, and now it isn't. CBS clearly has the best Monday night lineup. (Lord knows I was tuned in non-stop for the three hour stretch 8-11pm)


By Forch F. Fortier (Who believes that if Sheldon Cooper ran the world, it would be a much better place. Things would be in order, people would have regular bowel movements, and everyone would wear two shirts, always... (Something that Sheldon and I have in common.) Oh what a world that would be! NOW MOVE! You're in my spot!)

News: The Doctor.... A LAWYER???


For myself this is a great sign, and I feel that this might be a good sign for fans of "Doctor Who" star, David Tennant.

This Christmas, Fans of the Doctor are going to mourn the loss of Tennant's "Tenth Doctor" in "The End of Time" which is going to show Tennant handing the reins of the show over to Matt Smith, and new Series Producer, Steven Moffat.

Tennant, however appears to be moving on from the role that made him an international superstar, and it looks like he's striking while the iron is still hot. According to denofgeek.com Tennant has signed on to star in a new legal series on NBC called: "Rex Is Not Your Lawyer".

The premise of the show is a comedy/drama featuring a top Chicago litigator (Tennant) who suffers from panic attacks who coaches clients so that they can represent themselves in court. The concept appears to be one that is a little "Off the beaten track" so to speak, but one that Tennant can pull off without a hitch, as fans of who knows that the Tenth Doctor runs the gamut of emotions.

According to the report as well, it appears that the series has been in development for about a year or two, and it's been greenlit since the summer. NBC is hoping that the casting of Tennant will have the same effect for them that the casting of Hugh Laurie for the FOX medical drama, House had.

I know that myself, I am very excited for this, because I have become a huge fan of Tennant's work, and now that he's not going to be on Doctor Who, I want to see him become even more of a success, and I know a lot of others who are looking for the same. That, and I am interested to see what kind of accent Tennant uses for the part.


By Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds NBC that he does have acting experience. Sure it was just a TV commercial 3 years ago, but he still knows how to act. If you're looking for perhaps a series regular character, like a bartender buddy, or adopted brother who keeps bothering his Lawyer brother for money, I am available for work. Contact me at: forchman@hotmail.com.)

News: Terminator. Going Once. Going Twice.....


Do you have some cash to blow on something willy-nilly???

Why not buy the Terminator Franchise???

It appears that the fate of the Terminator franchise is up in the air, as an auction is going to give the highest bidder the rights to the Blockbuster movie franchise. Halcyon, the current owners, have filed for Chapter 11 (Bankruptcy Protection), and is selling off its most valuable asset, as a method of freeing up some money.

Now there is a kicker to this auction.


It appears that the auction will give the new owner the rights to the future of the Terminator franchise, however it will not give rights to the previous movies/media. The winner will be able to produce any sort of media related to the franchise, and judging by the sale of the rights of "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" (Which sold for $60 Million), Terminator will likely fetch a minimum 9-figure sum.

Sony appears to be the frontrunner to win the rights, but it appears that all of Hollywood's studios have expressed interest.

Now to add a bit of personal insight to this, it will be interesting to see the outcome of all of this. I am a fan of the Terminator films, and I really enjoyed the last film (Much to the Chagrin of the critics of the film) and I look forward to future films.

Terminator, for me is a love/hate relationship, much like the "Highlander" films. When you're dealing with continuity errors galore, it is hard to think of the films as a series, but you really have to deal with each of them as a stand-alone film. If you compare each one to its predecessor, then you're going to sprain your brain trying to make sense of everything.

I hope a company like Sony or WB do take the franchise, and steer it in the right direction. WB has distributed the last 2 Terminator films, so I think that they would be best to continue distribution, plus if WB buys them, then you always can place them in the DC Comics blanket, and make a whole media blitz with Comics, and perhaps Television (The Sarah Connor Chronicles was a great show, come on!), so WB, get in gear!


By Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that his parents actually are from the 30th century, who sent him back in time so that he can save the humanity of the 21st century from destroying themselves, so once he fixes everything, he'll create a paradox which will prevent him from ever being able to be born, to go back and fix the present.)

Celluloid Sell-Out: Yo Joe!

It's Tuesday, and whether or not you like it, it's new movie release day (At least for Home Video) and it's my job, or at least I think that it's my job to scan through the new DVD's of the week, to help you make the best choice that you can when it comes to purchasing, or better yet renting that DVD, Blue Ray, or whatever form of entertainment media is hot this week.

So let's see what's in store this week, here are the releases for Tuesday, November 3rd!


The biggest release of the week, undoubtedly is the hit (If you can call it that) blockbuster, G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra.This, of course is the film that I have been looking for, and of course, I had to rush to Wal-Mart to pick it up. Aside from the Standard 1-disc edition, there's also a 2-disc with additional features and Blue-Ray.

I happened to pick up the 1-disc, and I am watching it as we speak. As I have already seen the movie, I can tell you that it was a pretty good (Not great) movie, which at the time I gave a 6.5/10 (Grilled cheese sandwich scale) Upon rewatching it, I will bump up the mark slightly to a 7. It really isn't that bad of a movie, of course, Christopher Eccleston (Doctor Who) is the saving grace of the movie.


The other Big (Once again, if you can call it that) release is "The Taking of Pelham 123", starring John Travolta and Denzel Washington. Both actors I am fans of, however, when you try to remake a movie not many people care about, you come up with a movie that very little care of, and this, is undoubtedly what happened.

The movie tanked at the box office. But look for it to rent well on home video.

The next release this week is "Aliens in the Attic", a CG-Animated feature for kids. Another movie that did not do terribly well in theaters, and was overlooked by most theater-goers. As well, look for this to rent good for at least a couple of weeks, for parents who are looking for new films for their kids.

"I Love You, Beth Cooper" comes out today as well. Another overlooked film, no comment.

In other releases, there are a bunch of re-releases to talk about, as well as a bunch of "TV-On-DVD" releases, I will mention a few of those at this time.


The movie Watchmen (Forch Rating 8.5/10) gets yet another DVD release this week, with "Watchmen: The Ultimate Cut". This set will not only include (Yet another) extended version of the film as well as the Animated direct to DVD releases that came out around the same time of the film's theatrical release. This, of course is the only way that WB is going to get people to watch them, as those items didn't exactly sell to begin with.

Will Ferrell's live HBO special: "You're Welcome America: A Final Night With George W. Bush" comes to DVD. I happened to see this when it aired on HBO, I wasn't impressed. Ferrell seems to be growing desperate, as he's been slowly sliding into a downward spiral. It's a shame, because he's quite funny, however no one cares about what lovable loser he's going to play next, as each of his movies seem to just blend together.

Star Wars The Clone Wars: The Complete Season One looks to be a worthwhile release. Clone Wars is a great cartoon, and I feel that I will likely pick this one up at some point.

For you Henson-Nuts, Fraggle Rock: The Complete Series comes out today as well. I know a lot of people who are looking forward to this one.


And finally for those of you who love Michael Chiklis, The complete series of "The Shield" comes out in a huge box set! I have no idea who watched this show, but I don't see a lot of units of this item moving too much!

So that's this week's releases. Next week looks to be a good week, as the Pixar hit, Up comes to home video. In the coming weeks we're going to see a lot of hits hitting video shelves, so keep posted.


By Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that he auditioned for G.I. Joe the movie for the part of Gung-Ho, however director Stephen Sommers was upset when I told them that I wouldn't grow the gay mustache, however I was willing to get the chest tattoo.)

Sunday, November 1, 2009

Doctor Who: The Waters will not just be of Mars, but of my eyes as well!


So, it's Sunday, and here I am cooped up in my Parents' basement (As I normally am when Chloe's not around) and so I have devoted my day to looking for stuff to write about, when on one of my geek-resources, io9.com I come across an article: Expect Tears For David Tennant's Doctor's Farewell.

Now at the present time, there are three remaining episodes of Doctor Who starring: (My personal favorite Doctor) David Tennant. I have been met with mixed emotions over this for about a year now, knowing that he'll be hanging up his Sonic Screwdriver for good.

Tennant's performance of the Doctor is many things. He's funny, he's eccentric, he's serious, he's a genius (He'd call you one too, but he's in the room!), he's romantic, he's charming, charismatic, amazing and so many other adjectives could be used to describe the tenth Doctor.


I'll be the first to admit, there are many times in the series that I have been moved to tears, most notably "Army of Ghosts/Doomsday" where The Doctor and Rose were separated for what looked to be forever. That scene in "DÃ¥rlig Ulv Stranden" (Translated to "Bad Wolf Bay" from Norwegian) where The Doctor projects a Hologram of himself (Using a Supernova just to say goodbye.) to Rose. Just as he's about to tell her that he loves her, he disappears.

Another scene is during the fourth series finale. (Specifically the episode: The Stolen Earth) where The Doctor sees Rose, and she sees him, and they both smile bigger than any two people I have ever seen smile, and they run toward each other so fast. I get welled up with emotion every time, and even more so, as The Doctor gets shot by one of those Damned Daleks.

So the show itself is just ripe with emotional content. (A testament to the writers of the series) And I, of course get sucked into that emotion really easily.

Now the next episode (Scheduled to air November 15th) is "The Waters of Mars", and according to some of the spoilers that I have read online (As the British Press has been privy to a screening of the episode) the episode is supposed to "put you through an emotional wringer", and that it's "mining the same territory as 'Torchwood: Children of Earth', in that it's the closest that Doctor Who will ever come to Nihilism".

Wow! That's a lot to live up to, in my opinion, but judging by the trailers, I have little doubt (If any at all) that "The Waters of Mars" will satisfy this craving that I have for Doctor Who.


In addition to the description of the emotionality of the episode, it's stated that "more than one enemy will put in an appearance, either in flashback (Not necessarily from the Doctor's life) or... dare I say, premonition."

My God... I have to see this episode!!!

The episode, of course ends with a "Flash-forward" to the "End of Time" two parter, to end Tennant's reign as the Doctor, which I know I will have to watch alone. (To save myself the embarrassment of crying in front of a bunch of dudes.) And from there I have the Eleventh Doctor, Matt Smith to look forward to. I still remain ambivalent about his Doctor, until I see something showcasing his Doctor. (Trailer, Preview, episode, whatever) I know that Steven Moffat will not let me down.


By Forch F. Fortier (Who is mentioning at this time, that if Matt Smith doesn't work out for the role of "The Doctor", that is he is a trained actor, and is willing to take over the role on a minute's notice. However, you're going to need to provide him with airfare and a place to crash, as he's flat broke right now... But wouldn't that be interesting? The first bald, non-european Doctor??? Think about it, Steve!)

News: Ryan Seacrest is just fine! (Damn!)


According to people.com, it was reported that the "Media Superstar" (Shudder) Ryan Seacrest is "fine ... happy" (as his Twitter account also mentioned) after a restraining order went out on Friday against someone who was arrested on suspicion of stalking Seacrest, 34.

The alleged Stalker: Chidi Uzomah, 25 is in custody on $150,000 bail under "Suspicion of Felony Stalking". It appears that Uzomah is already on probation for another recent incident involving Seacrest as well. (It appears that he had attacked his security guard)

The story concerning the latest incident states that Uzomah entered the offices at E! on Friday in search of Seacrest, armed with a folding knife, however he was not in the building. He was apprehended by security and then arrested by the LAPD.

Now all of this begs to mind one question: Why the hell would anyone want to stalk Ryan Seacrest? I'd stalk Jm. J Bullock before I'd ever stalk Ryan Seacrest!


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you NOT to watch American Idol, because if you do, you're going to only make Ryan Seacrest more powerful, and by doing so, you may unleash a plague 10x worse than H1N1!)

News: "LOST", but making good time.


For those of you who are fans of "Lost" (Of which, sadly I am not one) it appears that a kick-off date for the sixth (and final) season has been rumored.

According to our friends over at tvovermind.com the final season of Lost is slated to begin on January 20th. However, this is the second rumored date, as it had been previously mentioned that the 27th of January was to be the date. The 20th, seems to be the date most likely, as it appears that ABC (The Network) has issued a run-order report on one of their press websites with the 20th listed. It appears that the network is trying to pair Lost with their newest hit: Flashforward to give it a 1-2 punch.

However, no one at the network has confirmed this date as of yet.

It has also been rumored that ABC will not air Lost during the Olympics, which is strange, since Lost has traditionally won its time slot, even during the olympics, but that may be because the show has "lost" a bit of the steam that it once had.

Interesting side note: With Lost moving to Wednesdays, it appears that it's going to be competing directly with Hockey on NBC. In addition: add the fact that NBC (official network of the Olympic games) is going to throw as much as they can into the games to make them a ratings juggernaut, there may be good reason to pause the show during the games.

Now the "hiatus" would be nothing new to fans, as ABC has interrupted the show numerous times, and ABC, I am sure is not too concerned, as everyone knows the "Die-hards" will watch it, regardless.

By Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you to watch, and be passionate about all of your favorite shows, because if us fans don't, then we'll be stuck with Dancing with the Stars, and who wants that?"

Friday, October 30, 2009

Review: Smallville, Episode 9-6: Crossfire.


Wow! 2 Smallville Articles in one week? Unheard of!

Well this time around, I have taken it upon myself to review this week's episode "Crossfire" which is the sixth episode of the current season, and one that has delivered significant results, to which I was left smiling at the end.

This week's episode opens with a young woman fighting a man twice her size in an underground fight club. She defeats him soundly, and then all of the sudden, her arms are raised by what appears to be her "pimp". And who happens to be in the crowd watching the fight? Well it's Oliver Queen, otherwise known as the Green Arrow!


From the moment I heard the young girl, named "Mia" being called "Speedy" (played by: Elise Gatien, in a role which I hope to see more of her!), I knew that I was in for a treat. Because although I knew that Mia/Speedy would be in the episode, It's always nice to see those little "nods" to the DCU. :)

Of course, no episode of Smallville would be complete without the man, himself, Clark Kent, and he's agreed to help the beautiful Lois Lane (Played by the future Mrs. Fortier, Erica Durance) with an audition for a morning talk show. And unfortunately for Clark, the bickering between the two was enough for both Clark and Lois to get the job, much to the chagrin of Clark.


Ollie, of course, has now taken it on himself to take Mia out of her lifestyle that she's gotten herself into, so he picks her up in his lovely vehicle, and whisks her away to the Arrowcave (I can't believe there is an Arrowcave! Not in Smallville, but in the comics....) And he's begun training for Mia, to of course become his protege.

I also liked the fact that they dressed Mia in Red and Yellow, similar to how all DC Comics characters who have appeared on Smallville tend to be dressed in their traditional colors (See: Arthur Curry, who channeled Aquaman to a "T")

Without getting into the details of the episode, I just want to say that it was nice to see that the episode wasn't as much action-packed, as it was plot development for later on in the series. Not much was done to progress the "Kandorian" storyline, other than a few snippets of Major Zod and Tess Mercer. Of course it's nice to see that they're building toward something, without having to make it all substance, no story.


The episode ends with the perfect moment. Yes. The first (full) kiss between Clark and Lois! Something that has been building since season 4 has finally come to fruition, and I have to say... FINALLY!

Chloe Sullivan of course Is always a highlight for me. I just love the character. I am enamored with her, and I wish that they would work her permanently into the Superman mythos. She's basically the Superman equivalent of "The Oracle" (Barbara Gordon, the former Batgirl for those of you who don't know.) and that role suits her to a "T".

All in all it was a great episode, very little to complain about, I give it a total of 8 Grilled Cheese Sandwiches out of 10.

By Forch F. Fortier (who reminds you that Erica Durance is going to be the future Mrs. Fortier, it's a real shame that she doesn't know that... If she rejects me, then Allison Mack is more than welcome to take her place!)

Review: Battlestar Galactica: The Plan.


So this week's home video releases (as I mentioned earlier in the week, see "Celluloid Sell-Out: October 27th) were a lackluster sort at best, and the only one of the movies that I could find any sort of redeeming qualities with, was "Battlestar Galactica: The Plan". I had mentioned that I would eventually end up purchasing it, well I still haven't, but I decided to take it upon myself to rent it, to decide whether or not it was worth purchasing.

So, the plotline revolves around the events of the Battlestar Galactica series, however the point of view is changed. Instead of focussing on the humans and their attempt to survive, the point of view is from the Cylon's, and their plan to destroy the humans.

The original series, itself was a master-stroke in Science Fiction writing. It took key elements of humanity, and ambiguously showed how flawed we are as a species, as well as the fact that the Cylons (Who are essentially the children of humans) are just as flawed as we are.

Dean "Ziggy says there's a 78.1% chance you're here for a burger" Stockwell reprises his role as Number One/John Cavil, who as the "Unofficial Leader" of the 12 Human Model Cylons, and his plan, and the implementation of the plan to destroy the twelve colonies of man. Throughout the movie, you're watching two specific models of Number One, and their attempts to finish off the human race, when their original plan to wipe all humanity out.


Scenes depicting all of the revealed 12 models are played out. Some of which are previously shown scenes from the original series, some from a slightly altered point of view, in this you see a lot of the inner conflict of the Cylons themselves.

For example, Number Four (as played by Rick Worthy) has one model that was married to a mechanic named Giana on Galactica (as played by Lymari Nadal) and you can see how much turmoil he has within, when Number One confronts him, and forces him to blow up the ship that he and his wife live on, and instead he chooses to take his own life, because he would rather die than lose the ones he loves.

You can also see the pure hatred for the human race in the eyes of both models of Number One, specifically when you see an interaction with the Number One on Galactica and an Orphaned Boy. It goes to show as the main Cylon, how he believes without a doubt that humans are far lesser than Cylons. But at the same time, the Number One from Caprica starts to believe that the occupation was a mistake. It's interesting to see what essentially is the same character have a conflict with itself.

The story of course, has already been played out, so ultimately you know the conclusion that the movie comes to. The key is to show an alternate point of view. It was said that the best villains are the ones who believe inherently that what they are doing is right and justified. And you can see that conviction within the Cylons.


The movie, as well reveals the answer to one of the few remaining questions left from the end of BSG, which is: "What exactly was the Cylon's plan?" Now, we finally know.

All-in-all the film is done very well, and any fan of the series will enjoy the movie, because let's face facts... It's more Battlestar, and that's what we ultimately want.

Edward James Olmos, who fans know as Admiral Adama took the helm and directed it, doing a superb job. The movie had the same look and feel of the series, as well, the parts that we obviously reused from the show mesh well with the newly filmed material, giving things a very uniform feel to it.

The Disc itself has a pretty good amount of Bonus Material to it, with deleted scenes and Documentaries, as well as a preview for the series itself on DVD.

Out of a possible Ten "Grilled Cheese" Sandwiches, I give "Battlestar Galactica: The Plan" a total of Nine Grilled Cheese Sandwiches with the tenth having one bite taken out of it, so that means BSG: The Plan earns a total of 9.75/10, which means that I really liked it, duh! Why wouldn't I? It's BSG! :P


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who believes that this Hallowe'en, he'd like to see Tricia Helfer show up at his door, dressed up as Number Six, because he has a real crush on her!)