Showing posts with label Comics. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Comics. Show all posts

Friday, November 20, 2009

News: An "Iron Man" III Casting Rumor???

Iron Man II has not even hit theaters yet, and rumors are abound as to who is going to be the villain in the third installment of the Iron Man franchise. It looks like the money is on Faran Tahir, who if you remember, played the leader of "The Ten Rings", Raza.

Jon Favreau, director of the Iron Man films and the producers of the series as well, have mentioned in the past that they would love to introduce "The Mandarin" as a villain at some point, and since "The Ten Rings" is obviously a reference to The Mandarin (And not the restaurant, smartass! Crap, now I can go for some Won Ton Soup!) it would be safe to assume that Raza would be either the man who brings the Mandarin to life, or in fact, The Mandarin himself.

All I know is that I can't wait for the second Iron Man film, let alone the one after that! 2010 is going to be a kickass movie year, to say the least!

By: Forch F. Fortier (Who reminds you that May 7th, 2010 is the release date of Iron Man II. Forch will be in attendance... Will you???)

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Commentary: Forchie's "Inconvenient Truth"

I really wish that I had more money. I miss the days where I would be able to walk into my local Comic Book Shop (Which honestly isn't that local, it's a 25-30 minute drive) and pick up all of my favorite books, because right now, for the collector who enjoys great stories, this is the time to pick up books.

Generally now, I wait for the Trade Paper Back (TPB) to come out, which collects a number of books together (Usually a series of back to back issues compiling a storyline of some sort) and then it gives me a chance to just have a book of the story I want to read, without the pressure of keeping books bagged and boarded, and still getting to enjoy comics. But I miss having those books.

Wednesday used to be a day where I would jump up with joy at new Comic day. I'd go in, find the latest issues of the books I read and rush home to read them, it was just awesome. It was one of the highlights of my week, and well, now it's been about 2 months since I last set foot in a Comic Book Store.

I'm saddened at the state that the world has taken. That someone like myself can't actually find a decent-paying job that would allow me to not only live a decent lifestyle, but thrive. Gone are the days where you can put in a 9-5 Monday to Friday lifestyle and get by. The average single person has to work at least 2 jobs to make ends meet, and these are normally full-time jobs, not a 20 hour work week, but two 40-hour jobs.

To me, that is just sad. Even couples don't have it any easier. That's why divorce rates are so high these days, not because of couples not wanting to be in love, but money. Money is the biggest problem facing every single person every single day. It's sad, but it's true, and because of the way that the world has gone to shit, we're slowly becoming a Third-world nation, which is good, because maybe some of these richer countries can start sending us aid, and our dollar can soon be so de-valued that big companies will start moving their business to here, instead of America's Heartland: Mexico.

I feel that it's time our Governments started to work for us instead of against us. I get the idea that more tax dollars bring in more money for social programs, but the fact is, how do you expect someone like myself, who's only source of income right now is Government assistance (Unemployment Insurance) to pay more tax, when I am using Government money to support myself (And I don't get enough to do that, hence I live at my parents' house) and I can't find a job that would pay me enough so that I can own a house, and be able to pay my bills? Your overtaxing the people as well as businesses have killed our countries to the point, where jobs have been moved to other countries, so they can make more money for themselves.

It's sad that when you look at it, a company can pay less building an item overseas and then spend the money to ship it to their consumer, than if they built said product in the country where it's utilized. "Made in America" or "Made in Canada" used to mean something. Now? It means "Assembled in Taiwan" or "Shipped from Indonesia" or better yet "Built by some guy who makes 10 cents on the dollar, because the company who makes this doesn't care about the consumer, only the money they make off of said consumer."

The world just sickens me some days, and this is one of the reasons.

I just want to be able to buy comics each week. Is that really so wrong?


By: Forch F. Fortier (Who can't believe the tangent that he went off of on this article, it was going to be about how he's saddened at the loss of one of his beloved Comic book Characters: Kyle Rayner, but instead it became a commentary on the economic crisis...)

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Waiting with Baited Breath: Justice League: Crisis on Two Earths.


The "Justice League: Crisis on Two Earths" Trailer has been making the Youtube rounds for the last several weeks (ever since the release of Superman/Batman: Public Enemies on DVD) and I have to admit, I am excited (yet again!) for the next release by Warner Premiere/DC Comics.









The concept is that of the Justice League basically versus the "Evil" counterparts that exist on "Earth-3" (Of DC Comics continuity), where roles are basically reversed, and Lex Luthor is the greatest hero of that reality. The "Crime Society of America" exist in the place of the Justice League. Featuring Villains such as: Ultraman (Superman), Superwoman (Wonder Woman), Owlman (Batman), Johnny Quick (The Flash) and Power Ring (Green Lantern).

For those who are familiar with past issues of JLA/Justice League of America, et al, you'll know that these vile fiends appear every so often in DC Comics, and of course the Justice League's lives are usually turned upside down, but ultimately the heroes save the day, and lives return back to normal, or as normal as they get for the life of a Superhero.

The story itself is going to be mainly taken from the 1999 JLA: Earth 2 Storyline by Grant Morrison, where a heroic Lex Luthor comes to ask the Justice League for assistance against the Crime Syndicate. The film was writted by "Justice League" writer, Dwayne McDuffie and does not have any direct canon to the DCAU (DC Comics Animated Universe) from TV.

The DVD has been slated for a Spring 2010 release, and of course will appear in the 2 different DVD versions, the first with just the single disc and the second that will include a digital copy of the film to put in your computer/digital media device.


By Forch F. Fortier (Who hopes that the Earth-3 version of Forch is as cool as him. Of course he'll be evil, but as long as he still likes Grilled Cheese, and blue Kool-Aid, then maybe we can find a common ground.)

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

News: Smallville just got a whole lot sexier!!!


So here I am, reading through a bunch of entertainment news sites, and I have been blown out of my seat with the news that Pam Grier (One of the sexiest women of Forch's fantasies) has been cast on Smallville, as (Get this) Amanda Waller... That has to be some of the most unexpected casting news that I would have ever expected to hear. Especially for that Role.







Don't get me wrong, I am really stoked about it! Pam Grier is one of the sexiest women of all time. I've had a crush on her since I saw "Foxy Brown" late night on TV when I was like 10 years old. (Yeah, she was one of my first "Moments of Stiffness"!!!) Even at 60, she's still damned hot!!!



So the role of Amanda Waller is a little off, considering that the part (Which is that of an African American woman) is that of a "Larger" woman. Grier is anything, but "Large" (Unless you're adding "In Charge"). I am imagining that the role of Waller is going to have "The Suicide Squad" or "Checkmate" involved. That would be awesome, especially if we can have Captain Boomerang, or Deadshot on Smallville! (Maybe that will lead to another appearance by Bart Allen aka The Flash/Impulse!)







According to the news on the sites that I have been viewing, it looks like her story arc will appear in the second half of the season, after the most anticipated two-parter of the season: Geoff John's Justice Society episodes (I still am praying for at least an appearance by Jay Garrick, the Golden Age Flash!)

But if Grier's going to be a regular of the cast for the next half of this season, that's enough (Not that I needed a reason) to keep me peeled to my television screen for the rest of the season!!!





By Forch F. Fortier (who reminds the writers of Smallville, that the fans want to see more of the Justice League. Now that Ollie is back, and fighting crime, it's time to put the band back together. "Justice" is still one of my all-time favorite episodes, and with Amanda Waller and the possibility of a "Checkmate" storyline, I smell a total season climax that has a lot of Boom! Now... Just to hurry up and end this Kandor storyline, and get Checkmate going!)

Friday, November 6, 2009

Remember, Remember the Fifth... errrr. Sixth of November....


So November 5th passed once again, and once again, the British Parliament is still standing. So Guy Fawkes failed yet again. And speaking of Guy Fawkes (well, sort of) I have decided to take today's diatribe, and dedicate it to the man who taught me about Guy Fawkes, and the Gunpowder Treason....

That Man, is Alan Moore.

Moore is a comic-book innovator. That goes without saying. He has written some of the most influential stories in comic book history. Most notibly: Watchmen and V For Vendetta. Many a comic book writer has cited Moore as one of their biggest influences in their career choices.

So, you'd think that Moore would be gracious and kind toward his brethren?

Not a chance.

Alan Moore is a Bitter Old Crank!

There. I said it.

I love Moore's work, but my respect for the man has been dwindling for a number of years, but more so in the last year. It started with the Theatrical release of the movie "Watchmen" (Forch Rating: 8.5/10). Moore stated that he would have no part in seeing the film at all, mainly because adaptations of his work (Most notibly: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen) being terribly translated to the Big Screen. Now I understand this. When you invest so much of yourself into something, and see someone's personal adaptation of it, you may not get the same feelings, because people interpret things differently. I get that. But to go public and bash the people who are basically paying tribute to you, is disrespectful and just plain rude!

When Watchmen was released, it was praised by fans of the book as being the closest thing to a near-literal adaptation of a book ever. Because it was. With the exception of a few main items (Which actually made things a little more believable... Giant Squid??? Come on, Alan.) Watchmen was a visual masterpiece, and if I had created that world, and saw it on the big screen, I'd be moved. Zack Snyder paid tribute to Moore better than anyone could, and Moore will never know... Dave Gibbons knows.

So getting to the point, and reason of my rantings today. This is something that I read long ago, and was going to do a "Forch'N Telling" on it for my former Radio show, but that never came to be. Moore was quoted as saying the following, on "Blackest Night" Which is a DC Comics mega-event, which the genesis of it came from a short story Moore did about 30 years ago in a Green Lantern Annual (I believe).


"I was noticing that DC seems to have based one of its latest crossovers in Green Lantern based on a couple of eight-page stories that I did 25 or 30 years ago. I would have thought that would seem kind of desperate and humiliating, When I have said in interviews that it doesn’t look like the American comic book industry has had an idea of its own in the past 20 or 30 years, I was just being mean. I didn’t expect the companies concerned to more or less say, “Yeah, he’s right. Let’s see if we can find another one of his stories from 30 years ago to turn into some spectacular saga.”

What an arrogant asshole!

Mr. Moore, honestly? I think that you're the only one keeping yourself in the public eye. It's not like you're coming out with anything at this time that is ground-breaking or original. All people hear from you is your excessive whining and palaver about how people are ripping off your books, and I imagine that you're not even reading them, because you're too proud!


Geoff Johns (Writer of virtually ever DC Comics book) has done a top-notch job of taking a short story that you wrote, taking the premise (And nothing LITERAL from it, other than the IDEA) and went with it! He grabbed the ball and made a tremendous storyline from it, that has been ongoing for 5 years now! That's what I call a writer. He took a small, piddly little idea that you had, and expanded it at least 100x over! Yeah. He stole that idea. He ripped you off. Come on, are you that arrogant that you can't give credit where credit is due?

Did you actually coin the term "Blackest Night"??? I honestly don't think so. If I recall correctly (Ahem, Sarcasm, Ahem), isn't the term "Blackest Night" used in the Green Lantern Oath??? Let me Check!

" In brightest day, in blackest night,
No evil shall escape my sight
Let those who worship evil's might,
Beware my power... Green Lantern's light! "


Wow. Did you write that?


You complain about how people are sell-outs and stealing your ideas, which is funny, because what about this picture? Wasn't that you on the Simpsons??? That's probably the biggest sell out for anyone in the geek world? Not bashing you for it, honestly. I don't blame you, but where do you get off criticizing other people in the industry? You're going to lose that respect and admiration eventually if you keep it up...

Look at Stan Lee. People worship him. And why? Because not only is he the creator of some of the most pivotal characters in comics, but he respects the business, and gives credit, where it is due! Stan Lee will be immortalized forever because of that. He's a genuinely nice guy, where you come off as a pompous ass!

Remember, remember what I had to say on the Sixth of November, Alan...


By Forch F. Fortier. (Who reminds you that while Dr. Manhattan can turn anything into anything else, Forch has the power to turn anything into awesome! And Watchmen is an awesome movie, I just wish that Alan Moore wasn't too proud to realize that!!!)

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Somebody Save Me! (From Smallville getting repetitive and boring!)


I've been a Smallville watcher since season 1, and I would like to say that I am a passionate, as well as a very attentive fan. I think that as a whole, the show has achieved its original goal: To tell a realistic "Origin" of Clark Kent, with a modern twist that fans will both enjoy, and be able to believe.

I don't think that when the show was originally created that the intention was to keep the show going on this long though. So I have been posing the question: Is season 9 taking "Smallville" too far?

Superman, as a character has always been among my favorite superheroes, (But nowhere near The Flash or Green Lantern.) but as a character, he's always lacked a little bit, because as he is so powerful, is it really interesting to see a man, who can be pretty much invincible to almost everything?

But Smallville was something different.

At the start of the series, Clark was just learning of his origins. Krypton wasn't even a word mentioned until the second season (Rosetta, the First Christopher Reeve episode). Clark didn't have all of his powers, and he was an awkward teen, struggling to find his identity, as well as deal with and hide the fact that he has all of these abilities, and no explanation as to why.

Flash forward nine years. Clark knows who he is. Almost all of his powers are in tact, and he's fighting crime, as well as work as a reporter for the Daily Planet. So what's so "Smallville" about Smallville?

The show should really be called "Metropolis" at this point, because quite frankly, the only scenes you see Smallville at all are at the Kent Farm (Which is relegated to the Kitchen/Living Room, and the Barn) and of course Chloe/Lois's (I'm not sure whose it is at this point) apartment about "The Talon".

The only power that Kal-El (Clark/Superman for you laypersons) doesn't currently possess is Flight. And at this point the only explanation of this is (Via Jor-El, Kal's Dad) that it's all in his head. So there's still room for Clark to grow as a hero, but after 9 years, you figure that he'd be superman at this point.

Judging by the fact that Clark was either in his first or second year of High School in the first season, which would place him at 15. Normal time progression would state that he's about 24 at this point.

So why is he not "Superman"???

He's become a somewhat brooding version of Superman, in a black trenchcoat and black t-shirt (Complete with the Seal of the house of El, the Superman Insignia to you.) He's keeping himself hidden, but stories of him are popping up in the papers, like the Daily Planet (Where Clark conveniently works). And speaking of which... Who reads newspapers anymore?

In my personal opinion, what has made Smallville great, is not just the very good character development (minus Lana Lang, thank God she's gone!) but is the hints and nods to DC Comics continuity. The fact that a character like Green Arrow is a recurring character is great, because I love GA! And the version from this show is a great template for a movie version (Hint, hint DC/Warner). From last week's special appearance of "Roulette" to the appearances of Bart Allen (Flash IV/Impulse/Kid Flash), Aquaman, Black Canary and Cyborg, to the villains, Smallville has always had the DC fans salivating at the little teasers that they throw in there.

Who could forget in season one when a young Lex Luthor tells Clark that their friendship would be the "Stuff of legend"??? Classic! Or even when Chloe asks Clark what he wants to be and he replies: "I just don't want to wear a suit and fly everywhere" (Forgive me if that's not verbatim), Smallville delivers, and continue to deliver fans a great view of the biggest hero of the DC universe.

There are negatives to the series, though. Lana Lang was one of them. I found her too annoying, I am not sure if it was the way they wrote her, or just Kristen Kreuk herself. I am not sure, but I think that eliminating her character was a great idea. On the other side of the coin, I felt by removing Clark's parents from the series, you eliminated the moral anchor that made Clark the hero he is/was/will be.. Ma and Pa Kent are as pivotal characters to the Superman Mythos as Lex Luthor, and I feel by eliminating them, as well as Lionel Luthor, took away from the show, more than it added.

I also didn't like the Character Arc involving Jason Teague (Jensen Ackles). His character was a really lame Mama's Boy (Mother of course played by the ever-sexy Jane Seymour) and I was glad to see him die off at the end of that storyline arc. (Of course he had to leave to start the CW Hit: Supernatural). I could have done without the Kawatchee Caves and the whole "Native American" angle for Clark's character development.

So with all of this, will I continue to watch? Of course I will. Is it stale? Perhaps a tad... 9 years (With a possible 10th on the way) seems a little extreme. But I have the perfect idea for the definitive shot to end the series...

Of course I am not going to say it, what do you think? I'm crazy? Not a chance, if the writers want to know it, they're going to have to hire me as a writer to pen the finale!!! (By Forch F. Fortier)